April 22, 2010

I Know You Know ABOUT Him, But Do You KNOW Him?

Posted in Christianity at 6:13 pm by Lisa Ritchey


There really is such a difference!  I know all about Abraham Lincoln, but I do not know him.  I can read all sorts of books on George W. Bush, but, without spending any time with him personally, I would not know him.  The same holds true with Jesus.  We can read the Bible, listen to (yes, and even preach) sermons, sing the hymns, and even witness and lead people to Him, but never really develop a personal relationship with Jesus.

The tabernacle shows us how to get into His presence.  There are the gates, then the courtyard, the Outer Court (Holy Place), then the  Inner court (Holy of Holies: His Presence).  Psalms 100 tells us how to get there.  It says that we “enter into His gates with thanksgiving and into His courts with praise.”

When you pray, is it a monologue (you do all of the talking), or do you spend time listening while He responds.  Do you spend any time thanking Him for what He has done, is doing, and is going to do for you and on your behalf?  For your family?  Church?  Workplace?  That is praise.  Do you ever tell Him just who and what He is to you?  Jesus, You are my Jehovah Jireh, for you truly are my provider.  You are Jehovah Rohi, my shepherd.  Lord, I thank you that you are Jehovah Rapha, my healer!  Do you spend any time just telling Him how much you love Him?  This is called worship. 

Fellowship.  Spending time in each other’s presence.  This is the only way to get to know Him.  Does it take time?  Yes, it does.  Is it an effort?  At times!  When I feel bad, or am rushed I have to really fight to get past “the veil of the flesh”.  Is it worth it?  Absolutely!   Oh, to know Him more!

©Copyright 2010 Lisa Ritchey and Bare Bones Gospel

Leave a Reply

