July 1, 2010

Who Am I?

Posted in Christianity tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , at 12:54 pm by Lisa Ritchey


For years I was a daughter, wife, mother, sister, nurse, Christian, woman, friend, housekeeper, author, speaker, and teacher.  For some reason, when I thought of myself, it was as a nurse.  With all the other options that I had, nine out of ten times I identified myself as a nurse.  That went on for twenty-seven years.  

I should have given up my license a long time ago, but how could I when that was who I was, I thought. I finally let it lapse two years ago. I am having to re-identify myself now.  What is the purpose of my life at this point? What is my main focus now?  Just exactly who am I now?   

I am writing this as I am dealing with it.  I mean that I just got this revelation.  I am still, like, “Woah!”.  And a little anxious about what the answers will be.  The unknown is always a concern, but so much more so when it is about your identity.    

I am really having to examine my life as well as everything in it.  I am also having to look at how I am living my life.  Oh, my!  

Now what?  I have determined that this is an opportunity to literally be whoever I want to be.  I have been given a new beginning.  This is exactly what happens when we get born again.  2 Corinthians 5:17 says “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.”  

I am smiling as I think of this now, with fear no where in sight. Instead of a period of re-identity, I look at it as an opportunity for re-invention. I can still be whoever I choose.  I am using gifts that have laid dormant for years.  Freedoms and emotions, thought quenched with years of sameness, are surfacing again.  I am choosing to be a kinder, gentler, more tolerant person; to be more Christ like.  After all, 1 Corinthians 2:16 says that we have the mind of Christ, so why should I not act like it?   Let that be my identity and everything else will fall into place! 

“It’s a new season, it’s a new day. Fresh anointing coming my way. A season of power, prosperity. It’s a new season for me.” *  

Selah  

Shalom!  


Great song : New Season by Israel Houghton

 
©Copyright 2010 Lisa Ritchey and Bare Bones Gospel
 
Leave a Reply

