September 3, 2010

Feminism vs. Godliness

Posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Marriage tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 2:51 am by Lisa Ritchey


The U. S. Senate approved the E.R.A. or Equal Rights amendment  in 1972.  This amendment pretty much states that women are equal to men in all ways and deserve the same benefits and rights.  “Its central tenet was that sex should not be a determining factor in establishing the legal rights of individuals.” [1]  I believe in equal pay for equal work.  Since the passing of this bill, however,  an employer must hire one woman for every ten men that they hire.  I think that my numbers are right.  The point is that women get hired whether they can do the job or not.  I have seen women that get paid their full salary even though they are not strong enough to do their job.  What happens is that men have to do their own job as well as get the woman’s job done, too, with no extra pay or benefits.  This is just wrong.  Women now actually believe that they are on an equal stand with men in every area.  The Feminist Movement is absolutely the worst thing to happen to women, families, and even the Church, in a long time. What does this have to do with Godliness?  Let’s look at what the Bible has to say about this subject, shall we?  The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 11:8-10: 

“8. For the man was not [created] from woman, but woman from man; [Gen. 2:22-23]
9. Neither was the man created on account of or for the benefit of woman; but woman on account of and for the benefit of man. [Gen. 2:8].
10. Therefore she should [be subject to his authority and should] have a covering on her head [as a token, a symbol, of her submission to authority, that she may show reverence as do] the angels [and not displease them]. [2]
If that does not state God’s will plainly enough, maybe this will:  

“But I would have you know, that the head of every man is Christ; and the head of the woman is the man; and the head of Christ is God.” 1 Corinthians 11:3.  

It just doesn’t get any plainer than that.  Woman is under submission to man, just as man is under submission to Christ.   Whether we women like it or not, our husbands (Dads if we are single) are most definitely the heads of our households, and they do have the last word.  

We are to revere and  honour our husbands (Dads) because they are the image of God’s glory in our home.[3]  To rebel against him is to rebel against God, and that is so not a good thing to do.  “For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry…” 1 Samuel 15:23. 

 We just have to decide, like Dr. Creflo Dollar says: “Do you want to be right or righteous?”   The choice is ours.  I am not saying that this is always an easy thing to do, but it is the Godly thing to do.  No  matter how wrong  he is, I am to agree and go along with what my husband says, with very few exceptions.  If he is wrong, it is God’s place to let him know.  As much as I would truly love to always be totally submissive to my husband, I do flub the dub[4],  and when I do, I know what I need to do afterward: I ask his and God’s forgiveness and do some  prayer and fasting.  True submission can be accomplished, but like all other spiritual accomplishments, it is obtained through crucifying the flesh and the help of the Holy Spirit.   If you need help with this, simply ask Him! “Ye have not because you ask not.”[5] You might pray something like this:

“Dear Heavenly Father, I truly want to submit to your will for my life, and I know that submission to those in authority over me  is a vital part of that.  I am really struggling with this, though.  Lord, I submit myself, my will, and everything I have to you.  I ask that you help me be a submissive servant of yours.  I know with God, all things are possible,[6] even this.  I thank you that you have answered my prayer with “Yeah and A-men”.[7] In Jesus sweet, precious name.  A-men.”

 Now, after you pray that prayer, you do your part (spend time in prayer and fasting[8] [9]) and just watch what God will do in you!


[1] http://www.answers.com/topic/equal-rights-amendment  

[2] The Amplified Bible 

[3] 1 Corinthians 11:7

[4] Southern for blow it or mess up. 

[5] John 16:24

[6] Matthew 19:26 

[7] For all the promises of God in him are yea, and in him Amen, unto the glory of God by us. 2 Corinthians 1:20. 

[8] Here is a link to my previously published article: Fasting: What is it? Who should do it? Why do it? How do I do it? 

[9]  Another great resource on fasting  is Jentezen Franklin Ministries The Fasting Movement.

©Copyright 2010 Lisa Ritchey and Bare Bones Gospel


 

2 Comments »

  1. Alexandria said,

    I think it’s important to note that there are, in fact, two separate creation stories in the Bible, and that neither one is reliant upon the other. You are correct that in one of the Biblical stories of creation woman was taken out of man. She was made after him and made for him (Gen. 2:4-3:24). In the second story of creation (Gen. 1:1-2:3), it comes first, but it is the second story, woman and man are made simultaneously; together; at the same time. Equal. One was not made “for” the other. If I go by the traditional story, the one you have built your argument upon, then it is easy for me to fall in line with your teaching. However, if I take the second story into account and have the understanding that neither story is fact, but is just that, a story, I can draw very different conclusions on the role of women. It is not taught in church that there are two different creation stories in the Bible because most believe that they are just one continuous story. Unfortunately, the story that is taught is the basis upon which the church has launched its campaign against women and our rights in society. I do believe that women and men are different and there are things that men can do that we can’t and vice versa, but we are definitely equal and deserve the same rights, the same amount of honor, independence, autonomy, and respect.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and allowing me to explore them with you.

    interfaithful.wordpress.com

    • Lisa Ritchey said,

      Alexandria,

      First, let me thank you for reading my post and commenting on it. By no means was this intended as a put down to women. Women are to be highly honored and valued. (Read Prov. 31!!!!!) But the woman is also to highly honor and revere the man, and to honor him as the head of the home.

      God is waiting for us to live our lives lined up with Scriptures and become the Bride that Jesus rightly deserves. Coming under authority is a big part of it for many women. Like I said, it is not always easy, but it is necessary.

      Lisa


Leave a Reply

