October 8, 2010

Are You A Follower Of Christ, Or Just A Church Go-er?

Posted in Christianity, Keys To The Kingdom tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 4:10 am by Lisa Ritchey


It is so great to go to church.  I go every chance that I get.  I love it, and miss it horribly when I can’t go.  People call on me to do all kinds of things for the Church and I participate fully when I am there, singing in the choir, singing Special Music, handing out kleenex.   I do whatever I can  or am asked to do.  I have taught Sunday School and the girls on Wednesday nights, and even preached a time or two.  I am a really good person; I do my best to follow the Ten commandments.    I believe that Jesus died for my sins.  I am a Christian.   

What does that word “Christian” really mean, though.  According to Strong’s Greek Dictionary[1] it means to be a follower of Christ.  What does the word Christ mean?  “anointed, that is, the Messiah, an epithet of Jesus: – Christ.”[2]  Now, what does anointed mean?  Painted[3], but with what?  “How God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Ghost and with power: who went about doing good, and healing all that were oppressed of the devil; for God was with him.” Acts 10:38.

That was Him, what about us? We all believe the promises God made: to send a Redeemer to provide salvation from our sins.  What about the promises that Jesus made, though. Do we believe in those, too? What about, “Ye shall receive power after the Holy Ghost comes upon you.”[4] Scriptures state that those that believe do receive:

“Now he which stablisheth us with you in Christ, and hath anointed us, is God;” (2 Corinthians 1:21) 
  

But what would I be able to do differently?  Walk in the fruit of the Spirit[5] (the nature of Jesus), flow in the gifts of the Spirit[6] and Mk 16: 17,18 (the ministry of Jesus).  You will be able to hear His voice more clearly, and want to obey.  In short, you will be more like Jesus.  And isn’t that the whole point?

[1] entry 5546

[2] Strong’s Greek Dictionary entry 5547

[3] Strong’s Hebrew Dictionary entry 4886 or Strong’s Greek dictionary entry 5548 (You have got to look these up!)

[4] Acts 1:8.   

[5] Galatians 5:22,23

[6] 1 Corinthians 12:8-11

©Copyright 2010 Lisa Ritchey and Bare Bones Gospel


1 Comment »

  1. Fivetalents said,

    To walk in His fullness and in His glory as sons , as more than a conqueror and to die daily is a decision factor, an act of faith, a process and an inciteful one at that, especially when you are aware of pressing in for the mark of the prize and dying daily. Who said it was easy? A personal relationship with Jesus and clear introspection on yourself will transport you from faith to faith.


Leave a Reply

