October 29, 2010

Christians and Halloween

Posted in Christian Living, Christianity tagged , , , , , at 8:39 pm by Lisa Ritchey


The two just don’t mix.  I can not see how anyone can think it is o.k. for people who follow Jesus to celebrate Satan’s highest festival.  The two just don’t jive.

Is it wrong?  Absolutely!  A Hallelujah Festival or something is a fair alternative, if you just have to have one.  I understand Churches having these to keep kids off of the street, and bring the lost in.  This is such a hot topic.  It really does boil down to one thing:  Are we just in this world, or are we of it?   

 What do we tell our kids?  “We are in this world, but not of it.  We don’t do things like everybody else.”  Trust me, they will live.  My son was never allowed to read Harry Potter.  The Bible says that a witch (or warlock) is an affront to God.  They are not just books.  They are based on the actual  practices of Wicca  witches.  As for costumes:  there is no way that I would let my child dress as anything that would be offensive to God.  You see, I am a Christian.  I taught my son to live a life Holy and pleasing unto God.  If it offends God, we just don’t do it! 

Jared is now 23, healthy, happy, well adjusted, and lives a life pleasing to God.  Trust me, it works.

 

“Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.” (Proverbs 22:6)

 

 

(c) Lisa Ritchey and Bare Bones Gospel 2010

Leave a Reply

