July 8, 2011

IS THAT NARROW GATE WIDE ENOUGH FOR YOU?

Posted in Christianity tagged , , at 12:45 pm by Lisa Ritchey


Vince Bevill

Jesus said “Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.” (Matthew 7:13-14)
  • Vince Bevill it’s not because God’s way is hard to find (see John 14:6 and Matthew 7:24-25) but the problem is- most people aren’t really willing to do it God’s way, but insist on living their own way.

    Lisa Whitehead Ritchey Come on, Vince, call it like it is. Most people are like the rich young ruler, they are not willing to give up the things that are more important to them than G-d. With him, it was money. For some it may be drinking, for others it may simply be their tv and movies that are unappropriate for a Christian to watch. Someone may have to give up some friends. If there is ANYthing you are not willing to give up, that gate is too narrow for you to get through.

    I am on a tangent with this! This will be continued in the blog I will post after while.

So here I am in blogsville.  Now, let me add these thoughts here where I won’t take all of Vince’s comment section.

***NOTE:  Notice that It was not wrong for Peter to keep his fishing fleet and all of his money.  Jesus had so much money that he had to have a treasurer to carry his money bag, so we see that the money was not the issue, but the fact that it was too important to this particular man.

***NOTE:  It was not wrong for him to have all that money until Jesus told him to give it up.  It is not my place to bring someone under conviction, but the Holy Spirit’s.  It is not my place to judge and condemn someone for things in their life that are wrong for me.  Yes, there are the obvious things that I won’t list here, but I think you get what I am saying.

I can not smoke or drink anymore.  I was convicted that it was wrong eleven years or so ago, and I had to give them up.  I was not convicted by the Holy Spirit before then.  So I did it.  I gave up cigarettes kicking and screaming, but I did it.  Yes, I had been delivered from the addiction, but I still had my flesh that I, me, and no one else had to bring under control and submission to my spirit, and thus to the Holy Spirit.  That took me six months.  Six long hard months.   But I did it.  As for other people,  I don’t know if they have been convicted yet or not.  My job is to pray for them and listen to the prompting of the Holy Spirit in regards to them.  I may be to say something to them,  or I may be told not to say anything. ( There are times when speaking to someone about a given situation can drive them away and make it worse!)

My point is this:  If there is anything in your life that you are not willing to give up if asked, that gate is too narrow for you to get through.

On the other hand, if absolutely everything you have is His, and there is nothing  you would not give up, homes, land, dreams, plans, money, businesses, church affiliations, family members, whatever He asks, then you have nothing to worry about.  There is plenty of room between those posts for you!

**NOTE:  You had better make darn sure you are able to hear G-d’s voice, and know it is him.   For oh, so many reasons, this among them.  “How can you follow that which you can not hear?  Answer: You can’t.”  Me

© Original content copyright Lisa Whitehead Ritchey 2011

Leave a Reply

