July 10, 2012

Victory Over Guilt and Condemnation

Posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Keys To The Kingdom, Love, Praise, Prayer tagged , , , , , , , , , at 10:00 am by Lisa Ritchey


Jesus said “My peace I leave with you.”  It is really hard to have peace when you spend your life regretting and feeling guilt because of things you did in the past, as well as regretting and feeling guilt because of things you did not do.  I know.  I not only have been there and have the t-shirt, it is all I wore for years!

But no more!

Jesus is truly amazing, and like I have said so often, He certainly does not fit into anyone’s little box of what they think He should be or act like.  He is soooooo outside of the-way-we-think-He-should-be-and-act box that most Christians very often  actually miss Him.  Take the music He uses to speak to us.

Yes, He speaks to me through Hymns, but just as often, if not more so, He uses pop-type music.  See what I mean here.  

This week my precious son played a song for me, and several days later it just jumped up in my spirit as the answer I had been crying out to G_d for concerning the guilt and regrets.


This should be a theme song for all of us.  Why?  It took absolutely everything I have done, everything I have been through, to be who I am today.  If I had made one choice differently, taken one different road in life, changed one thing I did back then, no matter how wrong it was, or where it led me to, I would not be where I am today.

Yes, I have had to close some doors that were not easy to close.  I have done things I wish I had not done, but would I change it now?  I doubt it.

At this juncture in my life I can look back and, like the song says, “It all makes perfect sense”.

I thank G_d for praying Granny’s.  Their generation knew how to pray answered prayers.  That is what kept my husband and me both alive through our teens and early twenties, I am sure!

“Thank God for all I missed
Cause it led me here to this”

This by Darius Rucker

You can listen to it here.

You can watch it here.  (Don’t you  L O V E  the way he gets so into it at the end?!)

So, yes, this is my new favorite song.  And I have a feeling that it will be for quite some time to come.

I feel a shout coming on.  How about you?

Leave a Reply

