March 6, 2013

The Need Is Great, But Who Will Go?

Posted in Christianity tagged , , , at 3:01 am by Lisa Ritchey


I so seldom hear in my spirit songs from “The Red Back Hymnal”.  I love them, and sing them often, but those are seldom the songs that The Holy Spirit uses to speak to me.  I usually get what He is saying through music from the Bee Gees, the Monkees, and Abba[1].  Don’t get me wrong.  I love the old hymns and I do go around singing them to Him.  It is just that there are times He needs me to know what these other songs say.

This morning I got up with Casting Crown’s If We Are The Body going in my spirit.  This is such a burden on my heart.WHY do people say that they are followers of Christ, yet never look to see who around them needs help.  HOW can they say that they love G-d, yet never give to those that are in need.

Jesus made it explicitly plain when He said in Matthew 25:35-40 that we are to:

  • a) feed the hungry,
  • b) give drink to the thirsty,
  • c) take in the stranger,
  • d) clothe the naked,
  • e) visit the sick
  • f) and those in prison.

IF we are followers of His, His sheep, we will do these things.  I can’t feed the hungry, so I give to food banks.  Or those in Haiti, but I give to ministries that do.  I can not do these things personally, which is how it is to be done, so I make sure it gets done by giving to others that do.  It is a team effort, and through this team it gets done.

Many throw a few bucks into the pot on Sunday and think that means that they are covered.  Oh, so not so, my friend!

Yes, Salvation is free.  (To us.  It cost Jesus His life.)  If we confess with our moths and believe in our hearts that Jesus is L–d, we have a purchased and stamped ticket to Heaven[2].  We are on our way.  

HOWEVER

He does not want us to stay baby Christians forever.  We are to learn, and grow, and become as much like Jesus as we possibly can be.

Did you know that the fruit of the Spirit, love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance[3], is the character or nature of Christ.  We also have the gifts of the Spirit: word of wisdom; the word of knowledge; faith; the gifts of healing; the working of miracles; prophecy; discerning of spirits; divers kinds of tongues; the interpretation of tongues [4].  These help us to  fulfill the ministry of Christ.

SOOOOOO

If we are Christians – those furnished with what is needed to be employed, used by Him[5] – should we not be acting like Him?  Doing the work so dear to His heart?

Mark 16:15-18

(15) And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.
(16) He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.
(17) And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they

  • cast out devils;
  • they shall speak with new tongues;
  • (18)  take up serpents; and
  • if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them;
  • they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.

Jesus said we are to do these things.  He did not say, “Unless your denomination doesn’t believe in it.”  He wants us to do it.  Period.

This brings me back to the song I heard this morning.

IF we are the body……..

Please give it a listen/view.

Now when he was in Jerusalem at the passover, in the feast day, many believed in his name, when they saw the miracles which he did.  John 2:23

Well, Jesus is not on the Earth now.  At least not in His personal physical body.  Once again, though, If we are the body

Is there more you can do to be more like Jesus?

This lost, dying, hurting world needs it.

Isaiah 6:8  Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?

And your reply is……….?


[1] If we sing Allelujah, What Does God Sing? (barebonesgospel.wordpress.com)

[2] Romans 10:9  That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

[3] Galatians 5:22

[4]  1 Corinthians 12:8,9,10

[5] Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance Greek Dictionary via e-Sword: Christians is Entry  5546 (which was taken from entry 5547, which was taken from entry 5548, which was taken from entry 5530, so I used the implications in 5530).

Related articles

Leave a Reply

