May 14, 2013

In Honor of Mother’s Day

Posted in Christianity tagged , , , , , , , at 10:21 pm by Lisa Ritchey


“When God was creating mothers, on His sixth day of overtime the angel said, ‘You’re fiddling around a lot on this one.’ God replied, ‘Have you seen the specs on this order? She’s to have 18,000 replaceable moving parts, run on black coffee and leftovers, have a kiss that cures anything from broken legs to disappointed love affairs…and six pairs of hands!’ ‘Six pairs of hands? No way!’ the angel said. God said, ‘And the challenging bit is the three pairs of eyes mothers need. One pair that sees through doors, another in back of her head that sees what she shouldn’t be able to see, another in front for looking at a child who’s goofed and saying, ‘I understand, and I love you,’ without speaking.’ The angel said, ‘Lord, take a break. Tomorrow…’ ‘I can’t,’ God said. ‘I’m close to creating something so like Myself. Already she can heal herself when she’s sick, feed a family on a pound of hamburger, and get a nine-year-old to stand under a shower!’ Touching her, the angel said, ‘She’s too soft!’ ‘But so tough!’ God replied. ‘You can’t imagine what this mother can endure.’ ‘Can it think?’ asked the angel. ‘Not only think, it reasons and compromises,’ God said. Running his finger across the mother’s cheek, the angel said, ‘There’s a leak!’ ‘It’s not a leak,’ God said. ‘It’s a tear.’ ‘What’s it for?’ asked the angel. ‘It’s for joy, sadness, pain, disappointment, loneliness and pride.’ The angel declared, ‘Lord, You’re a Genius!’”

Erma Bombeck

Harris Interactive did a recent study asking which TV Mom people wish most they had had growing up.  Here are the top 10 results:

1. June Cleaver from “Leave It to Beaver” played by Barbara Billingsley

2. Clair Huxtable from “The Cosby Show” played by Phylicia Rashad

3. Carol Brady from “The Brady Bunch” played by Florence Henderson

4. A tie between Marion Cunningham from “Happy Days”, who was played by Marion Ross, and Donna Stone from “The Donna Reed Show”, who of course was played by Donna Reed.

6. Harriet Nelson from “The Adventures of Ozzie and Harriet”

7. Lucy Ricardo from “I Love Lucy” played by Lucille Ball

8. Samantha Stevens from “Bewitched” played by Elizabeth Montgomery

9. Roseanne Connor from “Roseanne” played by Roseanne Barr

10. Michelle Duggar from “19 Kids and Counting”[1]

I know that not everyone has a June Cleaver type of mother, one that does all the above while wearing a nice dress, pumps, and pearls.

I certainly am no June Cleaver, though I dearly long to be.  That is my goal.  I want to be a fantastic homemaker, the ultimate wife, and a great mom:  The Proverbs 31 Woman.  Nonetheless, I am just me.

It is difficult to walk through my house.  (I have a tiny house and am a pack rat, really).  I have made so many mistakes with my son, I really don’t want to think on them.  As for being  the ultimate wife, weeeeeell……..

I am dealing with the clutter slowly but surely.  After all, how do you eat an elephant?  One bite at a time.  “It did not get like this overnight, and it won’t get straightened out overnight, but eventually….!

Yes, I flubbed the dub with Jare more than once.  However, he did graduate highschool with several distinguished awards.  (Yeah, shocked the hound out of us, but YEA!)  He is an Associate Pastor in a local Church, and is studying to be C. E. O. of a business we will be starting soon.  I hope.  He is loving, and kind, and a gentleman, and everything a mother could want.  In spite of.

I tell my husband very often that I am so grateful that he has not left me.  I know I am a work in progress, and so does he, but, people!  We got married almost thirty-two years ago now.  I am soooooo ready for “and suddenly.”  I am realistic enough, though, to realize that it may not happen, so I continue to stand on and look forward to a bright, happy future for us all because the Bible also says, “But G-d”!

SO.

No matter what your circumstances.  No matter what your faults, if you love the Lord and strive to serve Him with all your heart, all will work out.  Maybe not like you planned or thought they should.  Maybe not like you saw in your dream.  But work out none the less.  We all make wrong turns and fall on our face once-in-a-while, but He is faithful to catch us, dust us off, and send us on our way again.  He is so merciful and gracious with His second, and third, and fourth, and however many it takes chances.  As long as we want to do His will and are trying!

We know that we are flawed, as wives and mothers.  Did you ever think that our moms were the same way: they also had their doubts about if they were doing a good enough job with the kids, are they being the wives they should be, is there more they could/should be doing, but don’t know how or have time, money,and/or energy to.  Yet somehow they did it all.  It may have been on a shoestring, but it got done.  And they made it look so effortless, as if it were just run of the mill!

I don’t know how some moms do it.  I wish I did.  I wish I could be just like June Cleaver.  But I’m not, and more likely than not, never will be.  But I will always be me.  And with Christ by my side, that will always be enough.


[1]mix1051.cbslocal

Leave a Reply

