September 7, 2014

Women, you are good enough as is. If a man doesn’t agree…..

Posted in Christianity, Just Lettin' You Know at 11:00 pm by Lisa Ritchey


 

Mobile Uploads – Vanessa Nomasonto Ngubeni

The group Alabama released a song called Close Enough to Perfect in 1982.  This just happens to be the same year that we got married.  I am so  far from perfect, but am so blessed to have a man that doesn’t see me that way.  How does he see me?  “Well, don’t you worry about my woman, or what you think she ought to be.  She’s close enough to perfect for me!”  That has always been one of our songs.  Here are the lyrics:

Sometimes her morning coffee’s way too strong
And sometimes what she says, she says all wrong
But right or wrong, she’s there beside me
Like only a friend would be
And that’s close enough to perfect for me

Now she’s been known to wear her pants too tight
And drinking puts her out just like a light
Heaven knows she’s not an angel
But she’d really like to be
And that’s close enough to perfect for me

She kisses me each morning, and smiles a sleepy smile
She doesn’t have to say it, I can see it in her eyes
Don’t you worry about my woman
Or what you think she ought to be
She’s close enough to perfect for me

Sometimes she gets down and starts to cry
But then again the lady has the right
She’s everything I’ve ever wanted
She’s all I’ll ever need
She’s close enough to perfect for me

She kisses me each morning, and smiles a sleepy smile
She doesn’t have to say it, I can see it in her eyes
Don’t you worry about my woman
Or what you think she ought to be
She’s close enough to perfect for me*

Of course when we got married, 32 years, a baby, and more pounds than I want to think about ago, Another of our songs was Baby’s Got Her Blue Jeans On by Mel McDaniel.  Believe me, those days are gone and over.  However, the other still stands.  I will be forever grateful to Alabama for recording this great song that has set so many women free from the curse of perfectionism, and to my husband who loves me just like I am.  He may wish I would change a few things, but still really, truly loves me.  And shows it every day.

If your man can not accept that you are not perfect, and if YOU cannot, you have problems!  If he feels any way other than this about you, dump him.  He is not worth it.  But you truly are!

NOTE: Marriage is forever.  If you are married, dumping him is not an option, but prayer will change him.  Trust me! ;-D

* Found at CowboyLyrics.com

Leave a Reply

